ms word question

Questions of Ms-word


Format Paintbrush: An Open Writer tool that is used to quickly copy text and basic graphic formatting like Auto-Shapes, picture borders and fills, etc. from one portion of your document to another.

Zoom slider/tool: It enables you to increase/decrease the magnification in a document.

Title Bar: It displays the titles (name) of the document on which you are currently working.

Ruler: It is used to change the format (tab stop and indentation) of the document.

Text Area: The white area below the ruler in which the document is typed.

Cursor: The insertion point marker that appears as a blinking vertical line.

The Document views: These can be used to the view the document in different ways.

Status Bar: It appears at the bottom of the document and indicates information like the current page, total number of pages and the number of words in the document.

Superscript: The number/figure/symbol/indicator with a smaller font size that is placed a bit higher than the normal text on the line. For example, in X10, 10 is the superscript.

Subscript: The number/figure/symbol/indicator with a smaller font size that is placed a bit lower than the normal text on the line. For example, in O2, 2 is the subscript.

Text alignment: The arrangement or position of the text relative to the page margins.

Left Alignment: The lining up of the text along the left margin.

Center Alignment: The lining up of the text along the right margin.

Justification: Lining up of the text along both margins equally.

Bullets: They are the symbols like dots, arrow, small squares, circles, etc. that are placed before the text to give emphasis to the following text and make it more readable.

Numbered Lists: Numbered lists are similar to bulleted lists, the difference being that instead of symbols you use numbers or alphabets to create the list.
Header: The text or graphics that appear in the top page margins of each document.

Footer: The text or graphics that appear in the bottom page margins of each document.

Page Margins: The blank spaces bordering the data on top, bottom and sides, when it is printed.

Page Orientation: The direction in which your data is printed on the page.
Portrait Orientation: Orientation in which, the page is printed vertically, i.e., taller than wider.

Landscape Orientation: Orientation in which, the page is printed horizontally, i.e., more wider than taller.

Table: A grid of rows and columns.

Cell: The box created due to the intersection of a row and a column in a table.

Splitting Cells: The separation of a cell (merged of otherwise) into two or more cells.

Theoretical Questions

Q. 1. What is the extension of a writer document?
Ans. The file extension is .odt.

Q. 2. Write the steps to split your text into two columns.
Ans. To split the text in two columns:
  • Click on the format menu option → page. A page style: Default dialog box will open.
  • Select Columns tab.
  • Specify the number of columns.
Q. 3. Write the steps to change the colour of the selected text to red.
Ans. To change the colour of the selected text to red.
  • Select the text to be formatted.
  • Click on the Format menu option → Character. A Character dialog box will open.
  • Select font effect tab.
  • Select font color.
Q. 4. What do you understand by superscript and subscript? Give example.
Ans. Superscript and superscript refer to number/figure/symbol/indicator with a smaller form font sixe that is placed a bit higher or lower than the normal text on the line, e.g., in the number 210, the exponential power 10, of the number 2 is written in superscript and in the molecular formula of carbon dioxide CO2 subscript is 2.

Q. 5. What is page orientation? What are its type?
Ans. Page orientation is the direction in which your data is printed on the page. There are two page orientations available: Portrait and Landscape. In Portrait orientation, the page is printed vertically, i.e., more taller than wider, while in Landscape, it is printed horizontally, i.e., more wider than taller.

Q. 6. What are bullets? How do you insert bullets in your document?
Ans. Bullets are the symbols like dots, arrows, small squares, etc. that are placed before the text to give emphasis to the following text and make it more readable. Bullet style refers to the pointers/symbols that are used to create the bullet point.
To insert bullets in your document:
  • Select the text to be formatted.
  • Click on the Home menu option → Bullets and Numbering. A Bullets and Numbering dialog box will open, with bullets tab activated.
  • Choose the bullet style of your choice and click OK
Q. 7.  What are tables? How do you create tables in writer?
Ans. A grid of rows and columns is known as a table. Each intersection of a row and a column creates a box called cell. They can be used for managing and displaying text based information or numerical data present in your document.
To create tables in Writer
  • Position the cursor where you want to insert the table in you document.
  • Select Insert → Table. An Inset table dialog box will appear.
  • Choose the desired number of rows and columns from the drop down list.
  • Click on OK to finish creating a blank table with the specified number of rows and columns.

No comments:

Post a Comment